Children's Book Awards

It's awards season . . . even in the world of children’s literature.  On January 27 the 2020 Youth Media Awards were announced in Philadelphia.  These awards included the Newbery Medal, the Caldecott Medal, the Coretta Scott King Award, and other awards for notable children’s books.  Below are some of this year's winners.

Newbery Medal

 Newbery Honor books:
The Undefeated by Kwame Alexander
Scary Stories for Young Foxes by Christian McKay Heidicker
Other Words for Home by Jasmine Warga
Genesis Begins Again by Alicia D. Williams

Caldecott Medal

 Caldecott Honor books:
The Bell Rang written & illustrated by James. E. Ransome
Infinite Hope written & illustrated by Ashley Bryan
Going Down Home with Daddy illustrated by Daniel Minter, written by Kelly Starling Lyons

Coretta Scott King Award

Author winner: Illustrator winner: Pure Belpré Award
Author winner:

 Illustrator winner:

Theodor Geisel Award

Click here for an extensive list of all award winners, including honor titles.  These award-winning books may now be in high demand, but you can always place a hold to get on the waiting list.

Congratulations to all the winners!  Did any of your favorites make the list?

Return to full list >>