Children's Book Awards

January 28 was a big day in the world of children’s literature.  That’s when the 2019 Youth Media Awards were announced.  These awards include the Newbery Medal, the Caldecott Medal, the Coretta Scott King Award, and other awards for notable children’s books.  Below are some of this year's winners.

Newbery Medal

Honor books:
The Night Diary by Veera Hiranandani
The Book of Boy by Catherine Gilbert Murdock

Caldecott Medal

Honor books:
Alma and How She Got Her Name by Juana Martinez-Neal
A Big Mooncake for Little Star by Grace Lin
The Rough Patch by Brian Lies
Thank You, Omu! by Oge Mora

Coretta Scott King Award

Author winner: Illustrator winner:

Theodor Geisel Award

Click here for an extensive list of all award winners, including honor titles.  These award-winning books may now be in high demand, but you can always place a hold to get on the waiting list.

Congratulations to all the winners!  Thank you for producing such quality books for our kids to read.

Return to full list >>