Pop Culture- what's hot
From Subjectguides
| Library Programs |
| YA Anime Club
1st and 3rd Thursdays @ 4PM - 7PM |
Contents |
Librarian Recommended Websites
Local Resources
KKFI 90.1 FM Kansas City Community Radio
Radio by, for and about the Kansas City area, much of it produced by an all-volunteer staff. A little of everything radio can do, including news, public affairs, blues, jazz, hip-hop, rock and more. Celebrating 20 years on the air.
The Pitch
The Pitch is a source of information from news and blogs to music, movies restaurants and the arts for Kansas City.
Noodletown
As the blogger, Sara, says: "i eat, cook and write about food in kansas city, missouri."
Kansas City Star
Kansas City Star offers latest news about the city.
Pop Culture Websites
Americans Who Tell the Truth
An award-winning collection of portraits of Americans, past and present, with short biographies. Targeted mainly at middle school and high school students, the site includes a curriculum to assist educators in teaching American history through the lives of those portrayed on the site.
Arts and Letters Daily
Offers philosophy, aesthetics, literature, language, trends, breakthroughs, ideas, criticism, culture, history, music, art, disputes and gossip.
Digital Television 2009
Explains all about the digital TV transition. You can request a $40 coupon off a TV Convertor Box.
Eye Level
The Smithsonian blogs Popular Culture. A look at popular art and artists through the eyes of the Smithsonian American Art Museum.
Popular Culture: Resources for Critical Analysis
Created as part of the American Popular Culture course taught at Washington State University by Professor T. V. Reed, the website includes hundreds of links that offer deeper insights into American Popular Culture.
Online Library Databases
Library databases may be accessed with your library card number and PIN. Most of these databases may be accessed from home; however, some are only available within the library.
Use General Reference Center Gold to find articles from newspapers, reference books, and periodicals, many with full-text and images. Find the latest current events, popular culture, business and industry coverage, the arts and sciences, sports, hobbies, and more. Library and home use.
America's Newspaper Index A full-text database of articles from newspapers covering social, political, economic, environmental, international, health and science issues. Library and home use.
This current events database allows students to explore social, political and economic issues, scientific discoveries and other popular topics discussed in today's classrooms. Library and home use.
New Books
|
The Shock Doctrine |
Nemesis: The Last Days of the American Republic |
I Am America (and So Can You) |
Head and Heart: American Christianities |
Classic Books
|
A People's History of the United States |
Working: People Talk About What They do All Day |
A History of the American People |
Reference Books
|
St. James Encyclopedia of Popular Culture |
New Multimedia (DVDs, audiobooks, etc)
Magazines, Journals and Newspapers
The current issues of these magazines are available at the Main library. Back issues may be requested at the reference desk.
Cosmpolitan - Cosmopolitan has information on relationships and romance, fashion and beauty, women�??s health and well-being, as well as pop culture and entertainment.
Downbeat - News and articles for musicians and educators primarily motivated by contemporary American music. Interviews, reviews, how-to-features.
Ebony - Features pictorial articles and stories about Black America's history, goals, aspirations, fashion, and food. Each month EBONY gives readers the best about achievers in all fields and their keys to success.
Esquire - Esquire is a men's lifestyle magazine. Esquire covers everything a man needs to know each month including the latest on style and clothes, what's new in cars, culture and entertainment and advice on money matters.
Essence - Features articles on health, beauty, fashion, food, interior decorating, careers, the arts, and travel.
Glamour - Articles and features on fashion, beauty, travel, life-style, decorating, entertaining, crafts and merchandise for young women.
GQ - For fashion-oriented men. Includes clothes, fitness, grooming, and entertainment.
Men's Journal - This magazine is for active men with an interest in participatory sports, travel, fitness and adventure. It provides articles on how to spend quality leisure time.
Rolling Stone - Rolling Stone is an American-based magazine devoted to music, politics, and popular culture published biweekly.
Utne - Comprised of original essays and articles from 1,400 alternative media sources, Utne provides new perspectives on social change, environment, community, and creativity.









