Local Government, Agencies & Organizations

From Subjectguides

Jump to: navigation, search
Johnson County Administration Building, Olathe, KSCourtesy Johnson County Museum
Johnson County Administration Building, Olathe, KS
Courtesy Johnson County Museum

Contents

Librarian Recommended Websites

Government

City

City of Olathe
Olathe Municipal Code Book

County

Johnson County Kansas Government
Jackson County Missouri Government

State

Kansas Government
Missouri Government

Federal

USA.gov: The U.S. Government's Official Web Portal


Agencies

City

Olathe Animal Control
Olathe Parks and Recreation
Olathe Police Department
Olathe Recycling
Social Security Online - Kansas City Region

County

Johnson County Appraiser's Office
Johnson County Division of Motor Vehicles
Johnson County Election Office
Johnson County Extension Office
Johnson County Parks and Recreation

State

Kansas Department of Health and Environment
Kansas Department of Social and Rehabilitation Services
Kansas Department of Wildlife and Parks
Missouri Department of Social Services


Organizations

Olathe Chamber of Commerce
Greater Kansas City Chamber of Commerce
Kansas Department of Commerce


Local Media

Newspapers

The Kansas City Star
The Lenexa Centennial
The Olathe News
Sun Publications

TV News Stations

WDAF Channel 4
KCTV Channel 5
KMBC Channel 9
KSHB Channel 41

Online Library Databases

Library databases may be accessed with your library card number and PIN. Most of these databases may be accessed from home; however, some are only available within the library.

Kansas City Star plus Kansas Newspapers Complete full-text content of local and regional news, including community events, politics and government, cultural activities, local companies, state industries, and people in the community. Paid advertisements excluded. Newspapers in the collection are Kansas City Star, Emporia Gazette, Lawrence Journal-World, Manhattan Mercury, Topeka Capital-Journal, and Wichita Eagle. Library and Home Use

Newspaper Source Provides selected full text for 25 national (U.S.) and international newspapers, including USA Today, and The Washington Post. Also contains selected full text for more than 200 regional (U.S.) newspapers, including, The Chicago Tribune, and The Kansas City Star. In addition, full text television & radio news transcripts are provided from CBS News, FOX News, NPR, etc. Library and home use

Magazines, Journals and Newspapers

The current issues of these periodicals are available at the Main library. Back issues may be requested at the reference desk.

Ingrams
Monthly business magazine
2004-Present

Kansas City Business Journal
Weekly business newspaper
One year, plus current year

Kansas City Magazine
Monthly local magazine
Five years plus current

Kansas City Star
Daily local newspaper
Three months plus current

Olathe News
Twice weekly local newspaper
Three months plus current

Topeka Capital Journal
Daily newspaper
One month plus current

Wichita Eagle
Daily newspaper
One month plus current

Personal tools