Literature
From Subjectguides
Contents |
Librarian Recommended Websites
Shakespeare
- Shakespeare Resource Center--An excellent, expansive collection of resources on William Shakespeare.
- Complete Works of William Shakespeare--Shakespeare's complete works available online as complete plays or on a scene by scene basis.
Mythology
- Encyclopedia Mythica --An award-winning internet encyclopedia of mythology, folklore, and religion. Here you will find everything from A-gskw to Zveda Vechanyaya, with plenty in between.
- Oral Tradition --An exploration of oral poetry and the epic poem.
- Joseph Campbell Foundation--A group founded in the spirit of the author of many great works of mythological study including The Hero with a Thousand Faces and The Power of Myth.
Poetry
- Academy of American Poets-- Comprehensive site searchable by poems or poets, and it also features information about National Poetry Month as well as awards, essays, exhibits, news, programs, and more.
- Modern American Poetry: The Poets-- Featuring the works of 161 poets, along with biographies and criticism.
- Sonnet Central An archive of english sonnets and commentary.
Reviews
- The Modern Word--Reviews, interviews, essays, biographical and bibliographic information on modern authors, plus links to other literature sites.
- Reading Rants! Out of the Ordinary--Smart, irreverant reviews of books for teens.
Local Literary Events
- Kansas City Big Read April-May 2009-- Sponsored by The Libraries of the Greater Kansas City, this year's novel selection is Old School by Tobias Wolf. Follow the link for additional information on area programs and events.
Other Sites
- Ubuweb--This site contains visual reproductions and sound recordings of experimental poetry, both historical and modern, as well as essays on poetry.
- Project Gutenberg--An ever-growing collection of texts that have fallen out of copyright and into the public domain.
- Poetry Portal--This site has loads of information and links to sites about writing, publishing, and studying poetry.
Online Library Databases
Library databases may be accessed with your library card number and PIN. Most of these databases may be accessed from home; however, some are only available within the library.
- Books in Print
The industry's largest web-based resource of books and materials currently in print. Find what you're looking for quickly and easily, using a comprehensive database of 5 million book, audio book, and video titles. Library use only.
Literature Resource Center provides access to biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of authors from every age and literary discipline. Combining Gale Group's core literary databases in a single online service, the Literature Resource Center covers more than 120,000 novelists, poets, essayists, journalists, and other writers, with in-depth coverage of 2,500 of the most-studied authors. Library and home use.
A reader's tool for finding books to match your reading interests. Library and home use.
Classic Books
Looking for a little excitement in your classics? Check out these adventures!
English Literature
|
|
|
|
Related Sites
- The Jack London Online Collection -- A collection of on-line texts of London's books and short stories, photos, biographical information, and documents and papers relating to his work.
- Mark Twain in His Times --An in-depth look at the writer, his works, and his impact on the literary world.
- The James Fenimore Cooper Society --Materials for Scholars, Students, and Readers for Pleasure.
- Herman Melville -- Contains a biography and selected bibliography of Melville's works.









