Education

From Subjectguides

Jump to: navigation, search
Library Programs

Contents

Librarian Recommended Websites

Local Resources

Olathe School District Links to all Olathe school web sites as well as contact information for staff and faculty and other information about the district.

Blue Valley School District

Johnson County Community College

Kansas Department of Education Information about all state education programs, including assessment standards, teacher licensing, student scholarships, statistics and much more. The site includes staff, school and subject directories and links to information about all state colleges and universities.

Kansas School for the Deaf

Kansas Works

MidAmerican Nazarene University

Project Finish Adult Basic Education is offered through Project Finish, an educational program sponsored by Johnson County Community College and the Johnson County Library. ABE/GED instruction is offered in 5 locations throughout Johnson County. ESL instruction is offered at 3 locations.

Popular Education Websites

Information on tests like the ACT, SAT and GRE

National Center for Education Statistics school locater Find a public or private school or library anywhere in the United States. The information includes the correct name, address, telephone number, urbanicity (rural, large city, etc.), and other student and teacher information.

U.S. Department of Education

Scholarships and Financial Aid

FAFSA on the Web
Fill out the Free Application for Federal Student Aid online.

Fastweb
Fastweb allows students to do a search for scholarships to match their background.

FinAid: The Smart Guide to Financial Aid
This award-winning site has grown into the most comprehensive annotated collection of information about student financial aid on the web.

Student Guide to Financial Aid
From the U.S. Department of Education, a comprehensive guide to information about grants, loans, and work-study.

U.S. Department of Education Homepage
Links to many useful resources such as the FAFSA, Student Guide to Financial Aid, Federal (Title IV) School Codes and lots more.

Online Library Databases

Biography Resource Center searches for biographies of individuals in a wide range of subjects, including business, politics, government, history, science, sports, the arts, and entertainment. The database also allows you to retrieve biographies based on specific sets of criteria such as ethnic background, nationality, and gender.

Funk and Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia is for students and adults, the Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia, covers an array of topics. The database also contains various images and brief biographies. This database is updated annually Library and home use.

Live Homework Help connects 4th through 12th grade students with real, live tutors online. Receive help in math, science, social studies or English. The online tutors may be accessed on library and home computers.

Learning Express. Want to take a practice ACT or SAT test? How about practicing for the GED or Civil Service Exam?

Literature Resource Center provides access to biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of authors from every age and literary discipline. Combining Gale Group's core literary databases in a single online service, the Literature Resource Center covers more than 120,000 novelists, poets, essayists, journalists, and other writers, with in-depth coverage of 2,500 of the most-studied authors. Library and home use.

Science Resource Center. Research science topics with the Science Resource Center, covering thousands of topic overviews, experiments, biographies, pictures and illustrations. The latest scientific developments are covered in articles from over 200 magazines, academic journals and links to quality web sites. The database covers curriculum-related science topics and offers teachers an easy-to-use tool to identify correlated to state and national standards. Library and home use.

Student Research Center Search for articles from magazines, newspapers, biographies. encyclopedias, country and state reports, and radio and TV news transcripts. Student Research Center also includes photos, maps, films, videos and primary source documents. Designed for students in junior high and high school. Library and home use.

More helpful educational tools available from the library or your home computer

New Books

Click on title text to check for availability.

Image:Howyourchild.gif

How Your Child Learns Best

Image:Aheadofthecurve.gif

Ahead of the Curve: two years at Harvard Business School

Image:Standforthebest.gif

Stand for the Best: what I learned after leaving my job as CEO of H&R Block to become a teacher and founder of an inner-city charter school

Reference Books

These are just a few of the many education reference books available at the Olathe Public Library. Although reference books may not be checked out, they are available to view at the library.

Barron's Profiles of American Colleges 2007
REF 378.1542 Barrons 2007

The College Blue Book 2008
REF 378.241 College 2008

Guide to Distance Learning Programs
REF 378.175 Guide 2003

Peterson's Colleges in the Midwest 2008
REF 378.241 Peterson's 2008

New Multimedia (DVDs, audiobooks, etc)

Click on title text to check for availability.

Image:Satact.gif

SAT, ACT, PSAT 2006 Express
Kaplan, Inc.
Call Number: CDROM 378.1662 SAT IBM/MAC

Image:Teach.gif

Teach Like Your Hair's On Fire (unabridged book on CD)
by Rafe Esquith
Call Number: CDAUDIO 370.1 Esquith

Image:Hobart2.jpg

Hobart Shakespeareans
Call Number: DVD 372 Hobart 21-DAY

Magazines, Journals and Newspapers

Education Digest

Home Education

Phi Delta Kappan: the Professional Journal for Education

School Library Journal

Dewey Call Numbers

Books pertaining to the subject �??education�?? are in the 370s of the Dewey Decimal System, and that�??s where you will find them in our book stacks. More specifically, the Dewey Decimal system breaks the 370s down into these subject areas:

371 School management; special education

372 Elementary education

373 Secondary education

374 Adult education

375 Curriculums

376 Education of women

377 Schools & religion

378 Higher education

Personal tools