Genealogy & Local History

Jump to Local History

Genealogy

Local Resources

Digital Cemetery Project
This website includes transcriptions from many of the cemeteries in Johnson County. The site is searchable by surname and includes addresses and directions to each of the cemeteries.

Johnson County Kansas Genealogical Society
The Johnson County Genealogical Society and Library is dedicated to fostering genealogical activities focused on Johnson County, Kansas and environs.

Image:familytree.jpg  

Olathe Memorial Cemetery
This website for the Olathe Memorial Cemetery includes both historical information and a burial index with pictures of the headstones.

 

Hubsites: These two sites offer access to many others.

Cyndi's List
The mega-hubsite of the genealogical world. Cyndi Howells has brought together every possible site of interest to genealogists.

UsGenWeb Project
An easy-to-use quick way to orient yourself to resources available for a given state, county, or city. It does not include the resources themselves.

Forms and Basic Search Information

Blank Forms
Many forms for documenting your genealogy research, including blank census forms, that can be downloaded as needed. 

Other Websites of Interest

Civil War Soldiers and Sailors System
This National Park Service site includes a database with basic facts about more than 6.3 million servicemen who served on both sides during the Civil War.

Family History Library
The largest genealogical society in the world is sponsored by the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints. You can access its card catalog and key databases online. If you only go to one site, this is it. It is packed with information, indexes, and practical tools. Included is the complete SourceGuideTM with hundreds of finding aids and research papers.

Kansas State Historical Society
For people who have family with a Kansas background, the Kansas State Historical Society site may be of use. While there are not a large number of records available on-line, there are good explanations of what materials might be available in a personal visit.

National Archives and Records Administration, Genealogy Page
This outstanding site is packed with genealogical tips, guides, and practical information for obtaining federal records as well as indexes like the Index to all Veterans Who Died in the Korean War.

Social Security Death Index
Searches can be limited by city, county, or state and modified by birth year, month or day. This site only works for people who were covered by Social Security and who are dead. The Ancestry site has a few records such as the Social Security Death Index that are free, but many more, such as the U.S. Census, that are fee-based.

Switchboard.com
Switchboard is a good source for quickly finding specific individuals or linking to others of a given surname.

Online Library Databases

Library databases may be accessed with your library card number and PIN. Most of these databases may be accessed from home; however, some are only available within the library.

America's Obituaries and Death Notices A collection of newspaper obituaries and death notices searchable by name of the deceased. In addition, the database is searchable by date range, or text contained in the obituary or death notice, such as residence, occupation, hobbies, family members or other personal information. Library and home use

Ancestry Library Edition Powered by the Ancestry.com web site, Ancestry Library Edition provides instant access to a wide range of unique resources for genealogical and historical research. With more than 1.5 billion names in over 4,000 databases, Ancestry Library Edition includes records from the United States Census; military records; court, land and probate records; vital and church records; directories; passenger lists and more. Library Use Only

Genealogy Connect Gale Genealogy Connect includes the "how-to" of genealogy research in addition to the idiosyncrasies of genealogical research in specific subject areas. Whether you are a beginner or an experienced researcher looking for in-depth genealogy data this is the place to start your research.  Library and home use.

Heritage Quest HeritageQuest Online provides a growing collection of research materials for tracing family history and American culture. Included are images of the U.S. Federal Census from 1790-1930, plus over 25,000 family and local histories, all full-text and searchable. Library and Home Use

Olathe Local History

Local Resources

Aerial view of Olathe, 1955    

JoCoHistory.org is a collaborative website with information about the history of Johnson County people, places and events.

Local Historical Newspapers

The Olathe Mirror (1861-1924) is available through the Kansas State Historical Society's digital newspapers page.  You will need your driver's license or Kansas ID to verify Kansas residency in order to search.  The KSHS has also partnered with Ancestry.com to make available select Kansas historical documents and public records.  Make your choice after verifying residency.

The Olathe News (2006-current) use your Olathe library card and PIN to access.  

Olathe News Historical Archive
Search the Olathe News online from 1959 to 2003.

Other historical Kansas newspapers are available through the Kansas State Historical Society and the Chronicling America Project (Library of Congress).  Check the KSHS page for titles and dates.  

Local Community Organizations

The Johnson County Old Settlers Association was established more than 100 years ago. The annual Old Settlers' Days in September began as a one day event in 1898 and is now a three day celebration attended by 100,000-150,000 people.                  

The Olathe Historical Society has been working to preserve Olathe's history since 1974.