Children's Book Awards

It’s awards season—the Oscars, the Grammys, the Golden Globes, etc. Did you know it’s also awards season in the world of children’s literature? On Monday, February 12, the 2018 winners of the Newbery Medal, the Caldecott Medal, and other children’s book awards were announced. Below are some of the winners and honor books.

Newbery Medal

Newbery Honor books:
Crown: An Ode to the Fresh Cut by Derrick D. Barnes
Long Way Down by Jason Reynolds
Piecing Me Together by Renee Watson

Caldecott Medal
Caldecott Honor books:
Big Cat, Little Cat illustrated by Elisha Cooper
Crown: An Ode to the Fresh Cut illustrated by Gordon C. James
A Different Pond illustrated by Thi Bui
Grand Canyon illustrated by Jason Chin

Coretta Scott King Award
Author winner:

Illustrator winner:

Pura Belpré Award
Author Winner:

Illustrator Winner:

Theodor Seuss Geisel Award

Click here to see a complete list of winners and honor books. These books may be in high demand now, but you can always place a hold to get on the waiting list. Congratulations to all the winners, and thank you for creating such outstanding books for us to read!

Return to full list >>